Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards

These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland

2021 Awards Programme

The 2021 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Programme is now closed and will re-open ready for your 2022 entry early next year!


IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES – take care, follow the latest Government and NHS advice, keep safe and we wish you well.  Keep an eye on our News Page and Tweets where we will provide any updates about the Awards’ programme.

We strive, here at Scotland’s Finest Woods, to do our bit to highlight all that is best in Scotland’s management of its woods and forests, and showcase how they contribute to the wealth and well-being of Scotland’s people.  Magnificent trophies and cash prizes are available to be won.

The 2021 line-up consisted of six Awards including the new and highly topical Climate Change Champion Award available as an optional, additional entry to all 2021 and carried forward 2020 entrants!  There were ten competitions providing lots of opportunities to enter with a category for everyone involved in managing woods and forests.  We are excited to again have two competitions in the Farm Woodland Award, including the only awarded once before competition for young people.  We also had categories for communities, new native and commercial woods, quality timber and schools anywhere in Scotland.  We expect that short-listed entrants in each prize category will be visited by our team of judges in May/June to find the very best entries in each of the:

Climate Change Champion Award category new for 2021 was an optional, extra opportunity with entries sought from across Scotland by any Scotland’s Finest Woods Award 2021 or carried forward 2020 entrant to one of the established Award categories below.  This competition sought entries where Scotland’s forests and woodlands can have an important role in the:

  • mitigation of climate change; and/or
  • adaptation to the changing climate; and/or
  • sharing of knowledge/information or raising awareness about climate change.

The superb CarbonStore Trophy will be revealed that together with £1,000 will be available to the first ever Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Climate Change Champion in 2021.

Community Woodlands Award category entries were sought from across Scotland for two competitions especially for:

  • small community woodland groups:  £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • large community woodland groups:  £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy will also be awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

Farm Woodland Award the new category introduced in 2018 was expanded with two competitions:

  • one for an active farmer/crofter anywhere in Scotland with the magnificent Lilburn Trophy and £1,000 ready to be won.
  • one for a young, active farmer/crofter and/or their forester/woodland manager with the Scottish Woodlands Ltd. Trophy for Young People and £1,000 cash to be awarded.

New Native Woods Award category where the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winning woodland.

Quality Timber Award category with three competitions:

  • one for new commercial woods:  where the James Jones Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for a single stand of trees or a compartment or a small wood:  the Hunter Blair Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for whole estates or forests:  the John Kennedy Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

Ever-popular Schools Award is back and we want to seek out Scotland’s most fun-packed school woodland projects: £500 is available to be awarded to the winner with £250 for the runner-up together with Tree Packs and a Mag Post for both the winner and runner-up.

You can also follow us on Twitter.

All entries had a closing date, deadline of Wednesday 31st March 2021.  Any entries received after this closing date will not be considered.

Download the Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2021 leaflet here  >>