Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards

These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland

2022 Awards Programme

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Programme is now open ready for your 2022 entry!

We, at Scotland’s Finest Woods, strive to do our bit to highlight all that is best in Scotland’s management of its woods and forests, and showcase how they contribute to the wealth and well-being of Scotland’s people.  Magnificent trophies and cash prizes are available to be won.

The 2022 line-up consists of six Awards including the new and highly topical Climate Change Champion Award available for direct entry and a special Award for Early Years pre-school projects!    There are eleven competitions providing lots of opportunities to enter with a category for everyone of any age involved in managing woods and forests.  You may enter one or more competitions if you meet the entry criteria for each.  We are excited to again have two competitions in the Farm Woodland Award, including the competition for young people.  We also have categories for communities, new native and commercial woods, quality timber and schools anywhere in Scotland.

We expect that short-listed entrants in each prize category will be visited by our team of judges in May/June to find the very best entries in each of the:

Climate Change Champion Award category newly introduced in 2021!  We seek entries from across Scotland and the competition is open to any forest, woodland or a school or pre-school climate change related learning project.  This exciting and highly topical award highlights where Scotland’s forests and woodlands can have an important role in the:

  • mitigation of climate change; and/or
  • adaptation to the changing climate; and/or
  • sharing of knowledge/information or raising awareness (includes education) about climate change.

The superb CarbonStore Trophy together with £1,000 will be available to the Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ 2022 Climate Change Champion.

Community Woodlands Award category entries are sought from throughout Scotland for two competitions especially for:

  • small community woodland groups:  £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • large community woodland groups:  £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy may also be awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

Farm Woodland Award this category was introduced in 2018 and has two competitions:

  • one for an active farmer/crofter anywhere in Scotland with the magnificent Lilburn Trophy and £1,000 ready to be won.
  • one for a young, active farmer/crofter and/or their forester/woodland manager with the Scottish Woodlands Ltd. Trophy for Young People and £1,000 cash to be awarded.

New Native Woods Award category where the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winning woodland.

Quality Timber Awards category with three competitions:

  • one for new commercial woods:  where the James Jones Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for a single stand of trees or a compartment or a small wood:  the Hunter Blair Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for whole estates or forests:  the John Kennedy Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

Ever-popular Schools and Early Years Award is back this year and we want to seek out Scotland’s most fun-packed schools and pre-schools’ woodland projects: £500 and superb trophies are among the goodies available to be awarded to each School and Early Years’ winner with £250 for the runner-ups together with Tree Packs and a Mag Post.

You can also follow us on Twitter.

All entries have a closing date, deadline of Thursday 31st March 2022.  Any entries received after this closing date will not be considered.

Download the Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2022 leaflet here  >>

COVID-19 UPDATES – take care, follow the latest Government and NHS advice, keep safe and we wish you well.
Keep an eye on our News Page and Tweets where we will provide any updates about the Awards’ programme.