Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards

These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland

2023 Awards Programme

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Programme for 2023


Please check the Roll of Honour 2023 for a full list of winners. 

We, at Scotland’s Finest Woods, strive to do our bit to highlight all that is best in Scotland’s management of its woods and forests, and showcase how they contribute to the wealth and well-being of Scotland’s people.  Magnificent trophies and cash prizes are available to be won.  We welcome your entries for the 2023 Awards Programme which is now closed.

The 2023 line-up consists of the return of all six Awards including the highly topical Climate Change Champion Award available for direct entry.  There are eleven competitions providing lots of opportunities to enter with a category for everyone of any age involved in managing woods and forests anywhere in Scotland.  You may enter one or more competitions if you meet the entry criteria for each.  We are excited to have categories for new native and commercial woods, farm woodland and young forester / farmer, quality timber, communities, and not least two competitions for young people.

We are very grateful to our team of volunteer judges who will visit all short-listed entrants in each prize category in May/June to find the very best entries:

Climate Change Champion Award category seeks entries from across Scotland with the competition open to any forest, woodland or a school / pre-school climate change related learning project.  This exciting and highly topical award highlights where Scotland’s forests and woodlands can have an important role in the:

  • mitigation of climate change; and/or
  • adaptation to the changing climate; and/or
  • sharing of knowledge/information or raising awareness (includes education) about climate change.

The superb CarbonStore Trophy together with £1,000 are available to the Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ 2023 Climate Change Champion.

Community Woodlands Award category entries are sought for two competitions especially for:

  • small community woodland groups:  £1,000 available to be awarded to the winner.
  • large community woodland groups:  £1,000 available to be awarded to the winner.

In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy can also be awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

Farm Woodland Award this category was introduced in 2018 and has two competitions:

  • one for an active farmer/crofter anywhere in Scotland with the magnificent Lilburn Trophy and £1,000 ready to be won.
  • one for a young, active farmer/crofter and/or their forester/woodland manager with the Scottish Woodlands Ltd Trophy for Young People and £1,000 cash to be awarded.

New Native Woodland Award has one competition:

  • new native woodland natural regeneration or planting:  the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.

Quality Timber Awards category has three competitions:

  • one for new commercial woods:  where the James Jones Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for a single stand of trees or a compartment or a small wood:  the Hunter Blair Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.
  • one for whole estates or forests:  the John Kennedy Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.

Schools and Early Years Awards are back this year and we want to seek out Scotland’s most fun-packed schools and pre-schools’ woodland projects:  £250 and superb trophies are among the goodies available to be awarded to each Schools and Early Years’ winner together with a Tree Pack and a Mag Post.

You can also follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2023 – download general information leaflet:  Word version here  and  PDF version here.

Please check back here early in 2024 for details of the launch of next year’s programme.