Scotland's Finest Woods



Awards for 2023

Roll of Honour

Friday 23rd June 2023

Roll of Honour

Early Years Award

Winner of the Scottish Forestry Early Years' Trophy:

Bushcraft Bairns, Comrie

Schools Award

Winner of the Crown Estate Scotland Schools' Trophy:

Fordyce Primary School, Aberdeenshire

Commended – Oakbank Primary School (Perth); Banchory Academy (Banchory); and Linnvale Primary School (Clydebank)

New Native Woods Award

Winner of the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy for New Native Woods:

Robin Sedgwick, Martyn's Wood, Crannich, Isle of Mull

Highly Commended – Strathvaich Estate for Strathvaich New Wood, Garve

Commended – Dunlossit Estate for Storakaig Wood, Isle of Islay

Commended – Camas Centre for Camas Wood, Isle of Mull

Farm Woodland Award

Winner of the Scottish Woodlands Ltd Trophy for Young People:

David Carruth for Brodoclea Farm, Dalry, Ayrshire

Quality Timber Awards

New Commercial Woods category

Winner of the James Jones Trophy for New Commercial Woods:

Richard Davidson for Crofthead, Moffat

Multipurpose Forestry

Winner of the John Kennedy Trophy for Multipurpose Forestry:

CCF LLP for Barracks Forest, Kinloch Rannoch

Commended - Multipurpose Forestry:

EB8 Ltd for Clow and Condie, Bridge of Earn

The Dulverton Flagon

Winner of the Dulverton Flagon, as a special prize for commercial woodland design in a sensitive landscape:

Bamberg Ltd for Ardachuple, Kyles of Bute NSA, Cowal

Climate Change Champion Award

Winner of the CarbonStore Trophy for Climate Change Champion:

The Future Forest Company Ltd for Dumyat, Stirling

Highly Commended – Clyde Climate Forest, Clyde Valley

Community Woodlands Award

Winner of the Small Community Woodland Group competition:

Doune Community Woodland Group for Doune Ponds, Doune

Commended - Large Community Woodland Group competition:

Carron Valley Community Woodland, Stirlingshire

Winner of the Large Community Woodland Group competition and of the

Tim Stead Trophy for overall Community Woodland Award Winner:

Friends of Almondell and Calderwood with West Lothian Council for Almondell and Calderwood Country Park, Broxburn

Judges

Dr Andrew Barbour, Roger Coppock MBE, Bob Dunsmore OBE, Steve Gillen, Syd House MBE, Michaela Hunter, Andy Leitch, Eilidh Malcolm, James McDougall, Bonnie Maggio, Prof Davy McCracken, Dr Suzanne Peace, Dr Mike Perks, Prof Chris Quine, Dr Jane Rosegrant, Charlie Taylor, Dr Vicky West, Lyn White, Douglas Worrall, and Sally York.

Trustees

Sir Patrick Hunter Blair Bt, Dr Stuart Glen, Wilma Harper MBE, Tim Liddon, John Paterson, Guy Watt (Chair), and Peter Whitfield.

A big thank you to all our delivery partners and supporters

The Scotland's Finest Woods Awards - run by the independent charity, Scotland's Finest Woods celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people of Scotland and to its environment and economic prosperity.

The underlying principle of the Awards is that people from across Scotland work hard to support their local communities, the environment and our economy, and the Awards provide a way to recognise and reward their achievements and so identify exemplars for others to follow.

The Trustees especially wish to thank this year's partners, supporters and the volunteer judging teams who have made the annual Awards programme possible.

Thank you

Thank you to **all** entrants for contributing towards making the competitions happen – we hope you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you for recognising the trees under your stewardship by taking time and effort to put your woodlands, forests, and woodland projects forward for consideration.

Delivery partners:



Building Sustainable Worlds

























Supporters:















www.sfwa.co.uk

Registered Office:

Scotland's Finest Woods
1 Ravelston House Loan, Edinburgh EH4 3LY

Scotland's Finest Woods Awards are managed by Executive Director, Jeannie Nairn, Woodlands Breathing.

Scotland's Finest Woods is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee and registered in Scotland (SC294388) and a Scottish Charity (SC039099).