Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards

These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland

Corporate information

Scotland’s Finest Woods is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee and registered in Scotland (SC294388) and a Scottish Charity (SC039099).

Registered Office:

Scotland’s Finest Woods
c/o 1 Ravelston House Loan

Board of Directors:

Stuart Glen
Wilma Harper
Tim Liddon
John Paterson
Guy Watt (Chair)
Peter Whitfield

Company Secretary:

Jean Nairn

Corporate history

Scotland’s Finest Woods was established in 2005 as an independent not-for-profit company to run the awards with the first competitions run in 2006.  The company is a registered charity and is funded by a range of partner organisations and supporters.

A partnership to run an annual awards programme was first established in 1985 by the Forestry Commission, Scottish Woodland Owners’ Association and the Royal Scottish Forestry Society with the Royal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland joining later; the first competitions were held in 1986.  In 1999 a fuller partnership developed to include a number of forestry and environmental organisations so as to better reflect contemporary woodland management and Scotland’s rapidly developing forest industry.  Finally, an independent charity was established in 2005 to run the awards.