Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards

These awards celebrate the contribution that woodlands can make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland

2024 Awards Programme

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Programme for 2024


We, at Scotland’s Finest Woods, strive to do our bit to highlight all that is best in Scotland’s management of its woods and forests, and showcase how they contribute to the wealth and well-being of Scotland’s people.  Magnificent trophies and cash prizes are available to be won.  We welcome your entries for the 2024 Awards Programme which is now open.

The 2024 line-up consists of the return of all six Award categories.  There are eleven competitions providing lots of opportunities to enter, with a category for everyone of any age involved in managing woods and forests anywhere in Scotland.  You may enter one or more competitions if you meet the entry criteria for each.  We are excited to have categories for new native and commercial woods, farm woodland and young forester / farmer, quality timber, communities, and not least two competitions for young people.

We are very grateful to our team of volunteer judges who will visit all short-listed entrants in each prize category in April/May to seek out the very best entries:

Farm Woodland Award this category was introduced in 2018 and has two competitions:

  • Fountains Forestry Farm Forestry Award – for a Whole Farm / Croft anywhere in Scotland with the magnificent Lilburn Trophy and £1,000 ready to be won.
  • Scottish Woodlands Farm Forestry Award for Young People – for a young, active farmer/crofter and/or their forester/woodland manager with a wonderful trophy and £1,000 cash to be awarded.

Community Woodlands Award category entries are sought for two competitions especially for:

  • small community woodland groups:  £1,000 available to be awarded to the winner.
  • large community woodland groups:  £1,000 available to be awarded to the winner.

In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy can also be awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

New Native Woodland Award has one competition:

  • new native woodland natural regeneration or planting:  the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.

Quality Timber Awards category has three competitions:

  • new commercial woods:  where the James Jones Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.
  • single stand of trees or a compartment or a small wood:  the Hunter Blair Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.
  • whole estates or forests:  the John Kennedy Trophy and £1,000 are available to be awarded to the winner.

Climate Change Champion Award category seeks entries from across Scotland with the competition open to any forest, woodland or a school / pre-school climate change related learning project.  This exciting and highly topical award highlights where Scotland’s forests and woodlands can have an important role in the:

  • mitigation of climate change; and/or
  • adaptation to the changing climate; and/or
  • sharing of knowledge/information or raising awareness (includes education) about climate change.

The superb Trophy together with £1,000 are available to our 2024 Climate Change Champion.

Schools and Early Years Awards are back this year and we want to seek out Scotland’s most fun-packed schools and pre-schools’ woodland projects:  £500 and superb trophies are among the goodies available to be awarded to each Schools and Early Years’ winner together with a Tree Pack and a Mag Post.

Several case studies have been prepared about previous winners and runners-up to inspire you – please click here and download the Schools and Early Years Case Studies!

You can also follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn for any updates.

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2024 – download documents:

  • general information leaflet:  Word version here Word document here  and  PDF version here.
  • entry forms and guidance notes are downloadable from the specific Award webpage.

You can submit your entry (adult competitions) now and until 23:59 on Friday 31st May 2024.
Do you have a winning project in 2024?

You can check the Roll of Honour 2023 for a full list of previous winners.