Welcome to Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 

We are now open for 2018 entries!

Our annual awards programme rewards and showcases all that is best in Scotland’s forests and woods.  

For 2018 there are four award categories, with nearly £7,000 of prize money and fabulous trophies, which are: 

Community Woodlands Award >>  Community-based projects compete for this Scotland-wide award with two competitions for both small and large community woodland groups therefore covering the full spectrum of community forestry in Scotland.  The striking Tim Stead Trophy and prize money are up for grabs.

New Native Woods Award >>  New native woodland projects compete for this award.  The unique Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and a cash prize are available to be won.

Quality Timber Awards >>   Focusing on growing quality timber, woodland owners and their managers can compete in one of, or all, our three competitions with three magnificent trophies and prize money at stake.  The competitions are for ‘newly-planted commercial woodland’, ‘a single stand/compartment/small wood’ or ‘whole estates and larger multi-purpose forests or woodlands’.

Schools Award >>  Schools and pre-school projects anywhere in Scotland can enter this ever-popular award.  We seek out Scotland’s most fun-packed school woodland projects with prize money plus other prizes available to be won.  Pupils, teachers and many helpers have great fun taking part!

Subject to securing a new sponsor, we really hope to have a new Farm Woodlands category as an option in our Awards Programme with the magnificent Lilburn Trophy available to be won!  If you may be able to help us secure a sponsor please do get in touch – see our Contact page.

You need to be in it to win it! So why not enter today?

We encourage you to take part and hope that we will see new faces, as well as familiar friends, in our field of entries for this year’s Awards and the prestigious 2018 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards!

For those who are involved with, own or manage a wood that may be one of the finest in Scotland you can now get details for the 2018 Awards (including the short, simple application form) here.

You can also follow us on Twitter and on our Facebook page.

The 2018 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Ceremony will be held on Friday 22nd June at the Royal Highland Show, Ingliston.


Why not have a look at the 2017 Winners and enjoy a virtual tour of those Awarded this past year:

Last year’s Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ Results were:


  Winner of the Crown Estate Schools Trophy – Underbank Primary School, Crossford, South Lanarkshire

Runner Up – Wild Willows, Kincraig, Cairngorms National Park


Overall Category Winner of the Tim Stead Trophy and Winner of the Large Community Woodland Group – Airor Common Grazings Native Woodland, Knoydart

Winner of the Small Community Woodland Group competition – Doune Ponds, Perthshire


 Joint Winners of the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy for New Native Woods – Carrifran Wildwood, Moffat Hills in the Southern Uplands and Mar Lodge Estate Pinewoods, Braemar in the Cairngorms National Park



 Winner of the James Jones Trophy for New Commercial Woods – Jerah, Sheriffmuir, Dunblane

2017 Roll of Honour – prizewinners

The 2016 winners had a fantastic experience that you can read about here.